State Rep. Mary Littleton easily won the Republican primary for her seat on Thursday night.

State Rep. Mary Littleton, whose district covers part of Dickson County and all of Cheatham County, defeated Cheatham County School Board member James Gupton Jr. in the Republican primary for her seat on Thursday night.

Unofficial results from the elections offices in both counties Thursday showed Dickson resident Littleton with a large margin of victory in the primary for the Tennessee House of Representatives District 78 post.

In Dickson County, Littleton received 2,082 votes to Gupton’s 970. In Cheatham, Littleton got 3,338 votes compared to 1,127 for Gupton, who lives in Ashland City, giving Littleton the victory 5,420 votes (72 percent) to 2,097 for Gupton.

The incumbent will face Democrat Holly Spann of Ashland City in November’s general election. Spann was unopposed in the primary, getting 1,739 votes in Cheatham and 1,046 in Dickson County.

This year marked the first time Littleton faced a primary challenger since she was part of a seven-way race in August 2012, according to Tennessee Secretary of State records.

In 2012, then-incumbent Republican Phillip Johnson of Pegram did not run, opening the door for the crowded primary field.

The district’s boundaries were redrawn between the 2010 and 2012 elections. During Johnson’s tenure District 78 still contained all of Cheatham as it does now, but it also had portions of Williamson and Montgomery counties and no parts of Dickson County, the Secretary of State records show.

In the 2012 primary with the new district lines, Littleton used an enormous advantage in the Dickson County vote to offset a last-place Cheatham County finish and win the primary, the records show.

She was re-elected in 2014, 2016 and 2018.

In state House District 69, containing the other part of Dickson County, Republican incumbent Michael Curcio and Democrat Eddie Johnson ran unopposed and will square off in November.

Curcio’s vote total on Republican ballots was 1,889 while Johnson got 807 on Democratic ballots.

In general-election races for partial terms on the Dickson County Commission, Danny Williams beat Joey Wenck in District 10 by a 610-224 count, while Johnnie Reed won the District 12 seat over Cindi Gray by a 465-363 tally.

Williams and Reed will fill vacancies on the commission, which has 12 members when full.

Kirk Vandivort, Steve Haley and Joe Underwood were elected in uncontested school board races.

Commissioner Jeff Eby won the race for District 3 constable, getting 584 votes compared to Danny Tucker’s 446. Bruce Green and Richard Lee were elected in uncontested races for constable.

County Assessor Jenny Heath Martin was reelected in another uncontested race.

State race

In the contentious U.S. Senate Republican primary field of 15 candidates, former ambassador to Japan Bill Hagerty edged Dr. Manny Sethi, a Vanderbilt University Medical Center physician, by just over 50 percent to Sethi’s 40 percent. The two had fought in recent weeks about who was more conservative, but Hagerty, who had President Donald Trump’s endorsement, won.

Marquita Bradshaw won the Democratic primary for the seat and will face Hagerty in November’s election. The seat became vacant when Sen. Lamar Alexander announced his retirement last year.

Main Street Media reporter Jason Reynolds contributed to this report.

Recommended for you