Dickson County Volleyball team

The 2019 Dickson County volley team.

DICKSON – Coach Sara Robertson will begin the 2019 Dickson Volleyball season without last season’s player of the year Kacey Donegan and the rest of a large senior class from a season ago, but she still has Anna Kate Humphreys and Maddie Perez, both of whom are varsity team captains.

The Lady Cougars went 29-2 in 2018 and ended the season as the 11th-ranked team in the Tennessee by MaxPreps. But this year is a new one, meaning returning underclassmen must step up as leaders.

“I’m very excited for this coming season,” Robertson said. “We lost a lot of seniors from last year, but we have several strong returners that have done a fantastic job stepping into those leadership roles this year.”

Last year’s roster had eight total seniors, and while that number has dwindled to three seniors this season, Robertson said she can still rely on players like the Perez and Alexis McCartney, who made the Dickson Post’s All-County volleyball team last year.

Perez, Ellie Nicks and Isabella Wagner are the only seniors on the team, so the six freshmen on the team may be needed this season. A total of seven juniors on the roster will soften the blow of the lost seniors, but many new players will be counted on to produce.

2019 Dickson County Volleyball Roster

Seniors : #00 Maddie Perez, #12 Ellie Nicks, #17 Isabella Wagner

Juniors : #4 Hannah Oliver, #5 Sadie Wright, #6 Lauren Grimes, #7 Anna Kate Humphreys, #14 Sara Dillard, #16 Alexis McCartney, #25 Jada Wright

Sophomores : #1 Carlye Davis, #2 Kate Peters, #3 Nevaeh Johnson, #10 Emily McCartney, #19 Bella Blackwell, #22 McKenzie Jenkins

Freshmen : #8 Breona Daniel, #9 Masie Pontremoli, #20 Graison Cox, #26 Hailey Wood, #31 Rylee Thompson, #33 Layla Ransom

2019 Dickson County Volleyball Schedule

Monday, August 19 at Independence, Tuesday, August 20 at Page, Thursday, August 22 at Cane Ridge, Saturday, August 24 vs. Creek Wood, Monday, August 26 vs. Hickman County, Tuesday, August 27 vs. Hillsboro, Thursday, August 29 at Antioch, Friday and Saturday, August 30-31 at White House for White House Wipeout Varsity Tournament, Tuesday, September 3 vs. John Overton, Monday, September 9 vs. Camden Central, Thursday, September 12 at Hillsboro, Friday and Saturday, September 13-14 at Rocky Top Classic Varsity Tournament, Tuesday, September 17 vs. Antioch, Thursday, September 19 at John Overton, Monday, September 23 at Hickman County, Tuesday, September 24 vs. Cane Ridge, Thursday, September 26 at Camden Central, Monday, October 7 Varsity District Tournament

Recommended for you